Drama aplenty (Mum, panic not)

Yesterday was challenging.

We got up super early, and arrived in Le Bourg-d’Oisans to start riding at 10.00 hrs. All to plan so far! And apart from Ollie thinking he had lost me, and searching town for me whilst I was making my way up the mountain, the ascent went well. I passed five people in the first two miles, which was a confidence boost!
Ollie found me at the first town, where I was busy standing with my head under a tap, and went on ahead as planned, following behind Chris who had started the ascent first. I continued at my own pace and stopped in shade at regular intervals. At one such stop, a particularly picturesque one, I met Steve and Andy from San Francisco – on their first trip to Europe. They asked me to take a picture of the two of them and then returned the favour, taking pictures of me in front of the view. I continued the climb with them for sometime and Steve ‘interviewed’ me on his Go Pro. At the next stop I headed to a shady spot and took a slightly longer break, so I next saw them in the final two miles and was able to get a finish line picture with them. It’s good to have company on hills, but I hate holding people back, so meeting new people of my standard to get up the hill with was a winner!

So, at the top…we had all made it – which made it more successful than L’Iseran! image

imageStill feeling relatively good we decided to continue up to the lake a little higher. However part way up I decided it wasn’t sensible to continue and I found the only shade available at the top of a mountain at 1330hrs; the shade created by a camper van. I huddled into the shade right next to the back wheel, and called over to the (French) owners, who were sat a little bit higher up the mountain, and pointed at the shade. I think they were suspicious but I needed that shade.

The boys went to do the final mile or so up to the lake.

image
It’s at this point that the day became challenging due to two unrelated, unfortunate events occurring in parallel.
As I sat quietly sipping water, in the camper van shade, I got the shock of my life, screamed, panicked and then chased…

The camper van was rolling down the mountain.

The owners shrieked and the man started scrambling across the rocks towards the van, but fell. The van stopped against a rock but was perched in a precarious position in which it could easily have fallen on to its side and rolled. With the van stopped, the focus turned to the man, whose ankle had swollen and was bleeding from somewhere.

I called the boys and asked them to come back immediately, but only Ollie arrived and he wanted water because Chris had fallen off; I had given all of mine to the man.
Then Chris arrived and catastrophe corner consisted of a unstable campervan, a broken ankle (man), blood, more blood, an unrideable bicycle and a midday sun.

Chris' elbow

Chris’ elbow

Damaged shifter

Damaged shifter

Pringle shaped wheel

Pringle shaped wheel

In France it’s supposedly a legal requirement for drivers to carry first aid kits, however I flagged three cars and got:

A few sips worth of water
A small plaster
A small saline solution
Toilet paper
In the end we decided to leave the campervan couple, as we did not understand each other and they were on the phone to emergency services. As Chris said…

They are French people in France, we need to get down off of this mountain.

So the three of us walked the short way to a restaurant, which was shut but agreed to sell us water, and then Ollie went to descend the mountain and fetch the car. Chris and I continued walking, with the intention of finding some shade to sit in and wait.

We hadn’t walked very far when we saw a car with British plates coming towards us, so we flagged it down and asked the guy for a first aid kit. He had one, but offered us the use of his apartment to clean up instead. So Chris loaded the bike into his car and Paul drove him to Huez village, and I followed by bike. We cleaned and bandaged Chris’ arm and then went back to the car so that Paul could drop Chris at a nice cafe. Again I followed by bike.

Ollie made good progress down the hill but had a blow out on a corner, luckily it didn’t cause him to crash though, and we were all reunited at the finish line and were finally able to eat some lunch and then set off on our 5 hr trip to Italy.

Only to end up back where we started the day, near Albertville, about an hour later due to an unexpected road closure!

We finally arrived at our BandB at around 2300hrs, tired and smelly!

Now to find the local bike shop…

One thought on “Drama aplenty (Mum, panic not)

Leave a Reply

