Back to reality

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas and New Year. I took Christmas Eve until Jan off. I was back to work just for the Friday 2nd Jan and then off again for the weekend. During the time off I managed to ride 323 miles, which is great for December in the UK. Though of course there was some dreadful weather and also Chris, Ollie and I did do a night ride, dictated by when the best weather was.

But all the mileage means that I have been slow to post on here! I am now having a week off because my muscles are getting a bit upset with me, so time to catch up with my blog and my studies.

I was very spoilt over Christmas! As one might expect, there were many cycling goods wrapped up in my parents lounge and Wiggle did very well from us (between Chris, Ollie and I): My brother kindly got me a bike fit book and a goniometer. I opened the goniometer first and had absolutely no idea what it was; it looks like some kind of strange protractor, but the book explained all and I look forward to reading through and improving comfort on the bike. My Grandparents kindly donated to the carbon bike fund, which is looking healthy and is on target to provide me with my new summer bike in April. Mum and Dad bought Ollie and I a bike maintenance manual which again I look forward to reading and learning. And Ollie bought me Bike Snob which I will mention again in another post.

Wiggle weren’t able to provide this hand-made beauty though…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/cd8/67302451/files/2015/01/img_0007.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/cd8/67302451/files/2015/01/img_0006.jpg

Thanks to Ollie and his Dad, Roy who designed and made this shelf for me to hang my bike up in my flat. I highly recommend!

But that wasn’t all, Mum and Dad bought Ollie and I a camping mattress each ready for our cycling/camping holiday in Europe. I am not into camping, so although grateful, I did say to them that I couldn’t promise that I would use it before the holiday. As it turns out Ollie seems to think that I need camping practice, so we have booked a weekend in Yorkshire and the Peak District. That should lead to some amusing blog posts. Hills, April showers and camping. 😩😫

Now that reality has kicked back in, I expect I will have to reacquaint myself with the turbo trainer next week and await the drier, lighter evenings. The search for the perfect carbon bike is in full swing, and we have booked a trip to the bike show in London (Feb) as part of the research. Any recommendations and a debate on the merits of disc brakes are welcomed.

Laura

2 thoughts on “Back to reality

Leave a Reply

