Homeward bound

We did get back on our bikes to cycle home on the 27th and for 40 miles of the 50 mile trip, all was well – sunny and warm for the time of year, lovely scenery and we kept a decent pace. To avoid the issues of the previous day I decided to try a new tactic to keep my fingers from freezing; Ollie’s mum helped me to wrap my fingers in kitchen foil! My fingers stayed nice and warm for the first part of the ride but the last 10 miles were AWFUL…hail battering our faces; we couldn’t look up, we couldn’t speak. Horrendous. The result of the tin foil experiment was therefore influenced by the fact that it disintegrates once it gets wet and while it worked up to a point, it was a complete pain to remove from the inside of my gloves.

Once I had dried out, cleaned squished slug off of my bicycle and showered I sat down and ordered a nice new pair of Sealskin gloves which I am hoping will do the trick. In fact they arrived today, but we are away in Cornwall, so I will have to see 2014 out with cold paws (trotters – for those that know me).
Although saying that I think we went out over-dressed today despite reacting to the weather forecast. It’s mild here and pretty hilly. Today we ascended 3500 ft over 35 miles.

Off to bed, ready for a mini coast to coast from Fowey to Watergate Bay.

Laura

p.s. Expect many nostalgic posts over the next couple of days, this year has been great!

Leave a Reply

