Low confidence and no energy

It is 22:18 – I haven’t eaten dinner yet. I have just been on the worst ride ( Ollie got stung inside his mouth by an evil wasp so it was probably worse for him). It was only 33 miles, but at about 13 I wanted it to be over. Every single mile from then on was painfully slow.

Normally on a ride of over 70 miles there comes a point at which I have so little energy that:

  • turning my head to check for vehicles at junctions becomes a nice to have, and something I choose not to do.
  • taking the risk and riding over pot holes seems preferable to pointing them out or avoiding them.
  • signalling is considered a complete waste of energy.

I hit this point at around 20 miles. 

As I was prepping for the ride this evening and getting my biscuits ready I thought to myself, ‘it is only an evening ride I won’t need much fuel’, so I put a digestive back – leaving three Fig Rolls and one digestive in my jersey. Big mistake.  This was also the first ride in absolutely ages in which I didn’t have any Jelly Babies with me – oh how I missed those little green men. Bonking is described within the Oxford Dictionary as; (Of a cyclist or runner) reaching a point of exhaustion that makes it impossible to go further. I felt alot like this today.

I couldn’t decide if I was angry, frustrated or upset but I was in such a bad mood; my tiredness was affecting my balance and several times I wobbled towards the bushes. It terrifies me that one month from now I will be in a London hotel bed, wondering how little sleep I can get away with and still manage to complete 103 miles. I’ve hardly been able to manage more than 20 for the last few weeks! 

One month to go…Programme and Instructions

20140709_230738

 

Finally, in TdF news: Fool TdF spectators into thinking you’re a British rider by lying on the ground next to a bike.

Dressability Logo

MyDonate

5 thoughts on “Low confidence and no energy

  1. If you can’t ride twenty miles without bonking something else is wrong, something BIG. You getting enough electrolytes? Doing the sports drinks? The reason I ask is that I can ride 30 miles on an empty stomach and a banana… At 20+ mph.

    Like

      • I drink Gatorade like it’s going out of style, especially in the heat. Plain old water will bonk you quicker than anything if you don’t replenish the electrolytes… Water dilutes what little you have left so it makes the bonk worse.

        Also, acclimatization takes two weeks… You’ll feel tired during that period until your body adjusts. Good luck and pedal on.

        Like

Leave a Reply

