Keep calm and cycle on

The pace of the SRC development ride last week was do-able but left my legs fatigued for the TT, so this week Sammy and I decided that we would do our own thing rather than going out with the boys. The Dame girls have all been very chatty this week, as there are two events coming up that we’ve been discussing – mainly over Facebook, so Sammy and I were joined by Carmen, Mandy and Kelli on the route which we had planned. We left Rodbourne and headed out to Tadpole Lane, via Casa Paolo, the Dog Track and followed the Blunsdon Road out to Hannington and Castle Eaton.

 

Unfortunately we weren’t quite the cohesive group that you might imagine. While we did our best to cycle in pairs, and keep on the wheel in front – it was taking all of our concentration to not wobble and cause a domino effect. So once we got on to the quiet country roads the nattering began, the concentration dropped and the cohesion was non-existent. 

 

And so it was around Castle Eaton somewhere that I uttered the famous last words of: 

Sammy, I think it’s time you and I were up front

cue (it took me half an hour to remember this word – I now have an itchy brain)

this: 

A perfectly executed changing of turns.

A perfectly executed changing of turns (less bikes obviously).

 

Okay, okay it wasn’t like that at all. It was more like this…

Crash

How it really was…

 

So, yes, my suggestion of going in front ended up with Carmen and Sammy colliding and me cycling straight over the top of Carmen. I have been told that I did a perfect bunny hop over Carmen, but I’m not convinced and I’ve asked her to check for a tyre mark across her back.

 

We had all ditched our first aid kits for ‘more practical things’ like inner tubes and lip gloss, so there were no plasters or niceties – the best we could offer was some fresh water to wash it off and a short-cut back home  (oh and a rapid return to the bike so that her arm wouldn’t stiffen up). Kelly tidied up the bike, Mandy searched for a missing light, Sammy and I reflected on how we (in particular our rides) are cursed and then we were off again… albeit it on a slightly shorter route – bumping into SRC, as they were approaching our turn from the opposite direction. 

 

I didn’t immediately take a picture as I bunny hopped over Carmen, of her lying on the floor in a heap,  like the kids of today would have done… however after about 30 minutes she volunteered to pose just for you blog readers: 

Carmen

Injured but still smiling

Sadly her shoes and cleats came out the worst in this incident, though it could be suggested that this is simply a ploy to buy new shoes 😉 

The remainder of the ride was relatively relaxed, although Carmen wasn’t having a great day, and had a chavvy boy racer drive aggressively at her,  but she told him what she thought of his ‘driving’ at the next traffic lights 🙂

Loads of exciting events coming up which I will tell you all about, but right now I need to get to bed as its 00:20 and I have a 07:25 train to catch. 

(I started writing this at 22:00 – I am a little slow this evening!)

L x 

Dressability Logo

Leave a Reply

