Getting serious.

The countdown from 113 to 106 days to go, came in the form of a pretty demanding week. Isn’t it always the case that a week which is shortened by a Bank Holiday seems like such a struggle to get through!? Another week of juggling work and a Masters, when all I really want to do is go out on my bike. Trying to do all three with equal amounts of enthusiasm and commitment leaves little time for sleep! Talking of which, why is it that I can fall asleep: on the sofa, in lectures, at my desk, on the train…yet when I get in my bed it just doesn’t happen?!!?

 

So, the inconvenience of working meant a trip to London on Wednesday and thus an early morning, busy day and late return – cue arthritic joint pain, inflamed tonsils and a desire to curl up in a ball…and so it was with trepidation that I worked my way through Thursday, wondering what 1845 would bring….

Earlier in the week my new cycling friend, Sammy sent me a message asking if I would like to join the ladies at the SRC and CCC Time Trials on Thursday evening. Keen to meet some more women cyclists and to reunite with my poor, neglected bicycle I jumped at the opportunity and thought nothing more of it.

Then while making conversation over a family meal I happened to mention that I was going to be going along to the Time Trial event. My uncle, visiting from Portsmouth, jumped at this news and immediately invited himself along to watch. Since he doesn’t have a car, this automatically meant my Mum and Dad would also be stood at the side of the road trying to get a glimpse of me huffing and puffing past them.

As the week progressed, this enthusiasm to watch, a good luck e-mail from my Grandparents and various comments such as ‘are you on drugs?’ made me wonder what on earth I had let myself in for.

… Thursday at 1800 I collected Sammy and we headed out to Ashton Keynes – I told her how my week had developed and she also wondered what on earth we were heading in to! The answer to which, became clearer as we pulled into the village hall grounds which were occupied by an army of streamlined, super competitive males.

Not to be so easily discouraged we donned our vented (holey), none aerodynamic and frankly ugly helmets and headed to the start, where we were released numerically at 1 minute intervals. It was great fun, and whizzed by! I managed the 10 mile course in 32.42, which is according to Strava 10.1 MPH slower and 11:35 minutes behind the  King of the Mountain(KOM), but puts me in 19th out of 31 placed ladies.

I wonder what my time will be in 106 days !

Here’s some pictures to end this weeks post:

IMG-20140424-WA000124 Apr TT124 Apr TT24 Apr TT Results

Please don’t forget about Dressability… Sponsorship Page

Dressability Logo

Leave a Reply

